County Donegal Historical Society

Schools Competition Results 2010

Harley McDonagh Trophy

Winners: Welchtown N.S., Ballybofey


Welchtown N.S., Ballybofey, who retained the Harley Mc Donagh Trophy with Declan O'Carroll, President of the County Donegal Histrorical Society

Runners Up: Niall Mór N.S.,  Killybegs

Niall Mór N.S., Killybegs who were runners up in the Harley McDonagh Competition

Runners Up: Murroe N.S., Dunfanaghy

Murroe N.S., Dunfanaghy, runners up in the primary schools competition.

Cecil King Cup

Joint Winners

Kieron Byrne and Derek O'Driscaoll, Carrick V.S., joint winners of the Cecil King Cup.


Winner: Ellen Nugent, Coláiste Cholmcille, Ballyshannon<'p>

Ellen Nugent, Coláiste Cholmcille, Ballyshannon, winner of the individual award for second level students.

5th Class, Scoil Íosagain, Buncrana, one of the runners up in the primary schools section.

Small Group

Winners: James and Jude Nugent, Creevy N.S., Ballyshannon

James and Jude Nugent, Creevy N.S., Ballyshannon, winners of the "Small Group" competition.

Schools’ Competitions 2010


Pat Shallow


The young historians of the county put on a great show on Wed.12th May in Jackson’s hotel. They were taking part in the 36th annual schools history competition, organised by the County Donegal Historical Society.

This years’ topics were Graveyards, Emigration, Sport, Railways, Bridges, and Historic Buildings. Donegal is of course steeped in history and some very interesting projects were produced, with ‘graveyards’ and ‘emigration’ the most popular choices.

 Students had to produce a folder of information and then set up a stand on ‘presentation night’. Each group had a 15 minute slot, to chat with the judges or make a presentation.

Schools from across the county; Buncrana - Ballybofey – Ballyshannon, were represented. A lot of effort was put in by the students themselves and their teachers, who worked long hours to help them produce the finished product.

The judges had an onerous task in deciding the destination of the main trophies, and I would like to thank Helen Meehan, Aine Ni Dhuibhne, Leonard Roarty and Charles Boyle for their dedication and effort.

In the end everyone was a winner. It was a great night of colour and chat and everyone learned something new. The judges were greatly impressed by the knowledge and enthusiasm of these young historians and they were certainly a credit to their parents, schools and communities.




Results 2010



Harley Mc Donagh Trophy




Welchtown N.S., Ballybofey


Runners Up:


Joint 1st Runners Up:


Niall Mor N.S., Killybegs

Murroe N.S., Dunfanaghy


2nd Runner Up:


 5th class, Scoil Iosagain, Buncrana



Highly Commended:


6th class, Scoil Iosagain, Buncrana

Scoil Eoin Pol, Loch an Iuir, Annagry

St. Mura’s N.S., Buncrana



Fr. Jackie Fitzgerald Trophy




Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair



Emerson Award




St. Mura’s N.S., Buncrana









Ellen Nugent, Colaiste Cholmcille, Ballyshannon.



Small Groups:




James and Jude Nugent, Creevy N.S., Ballyshannon.


Runners Up:


Anna Doherty, Stacey Mc Gee, Matthew Clarke & Louise Brogan, Scoil an Linbh Iosa, Carrigans.



Cecil King Cup:


Joint Winners:


Derek O’ Driscoll and Kieron Byrne, Carrick V.S.


Runners Up:


Conall Gilmore, Dermot McGinley, Damien Hegarty & Barry Carr