County Donegal Historical Society

Schools Competition Results 2013

James and Jude Nugent, Creevy N.S., Ballyshannon who were winners of the primary schools small groups’ competition.

Cian Gallagher, Carrick V.S. winner of the Cecil King cup for his Martello Tower

Loreto College Milford, winners of the Father Jackie Fitzgerald trophy for the top second level entry.

Students from Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair, runners up in the Fr. Jackie Fitzgerald competition.

Colaiste Phobail Cholmcille, runners up in the Fr. Jackie Fitzgerald competition.

Margaret Gallagher, Loreto Milford, winners of the individual competition for second level entries.

Scoil an Chaisil, Gleann Cholmcille, runners up in the Harley McDonagh competition.

Dooish N.S., Ballybofey, runners up in the Harley McDonagh competition.

Edeninfagh N.S., Glenties who won the Emerson award.

Holy Trinity N.S., Dunfanaghy, winners of the Harley McDonagh trophy for 2012.


County Donegal Historical Society
Schools Competitions 2013

Celebrating "The Gathering" at Co. Donegal Historical Society's Schools' Competition
This year's theme, "The Gathering" certainly proved to be one of the most popular with the pupils of the county as they were tasked to showcase the historical attractions of their locality and its cultural heritage. Seeing all the exhibits in the Pyramid Suite of Jackson's Hotel on the day of the judging was a magnificent spectacle and a superb tribute to the huge amount of research, effort and endeavour from all the pupils, under the guidance of their dedicated teachers.

In his address, the President of the Society, An Dr. Oirmh Pádraig Ó'Baoighill, PP thanked Pat Shallow for his professionalism in organising the schools' competition which he has been doing for so many years. He then praised the pupils for their hard work, acknowledged that they were the historians of tomorrow and expressed his disappointment that some schools do not teach the subject. Speaking in Irish he said, "Is léir ó na taispeantais atá os ár gcomhair go bhfuil obair mhór déanta ag na daoine óga seo....Is iad na daoine óga atá i láthair anseo inniu stairaithe an lae amáraigh. I saol an lae inniu, tá scoileanna ann nach bhfuil an stair a theagasc acu, agus is mór an t-abhair buartha é sin, mar duine ar bith nach bhfuil ar an eolas faoi stair a gceantair agus stair a dtíre, is cinnte go bhfuil bearna mhór ina gcuid oideachais."

Pat Shallow, Director of the Schools' Competition, also mentioned the huge amount of time and effort involved for the pupils taking part. "This is their evening, these exhibits that we see around the hall are a wonderful credit to them and it's great to see their work on show here and listen to their presentations." He went on to express his gratitude to the teachers. "Without their dedication and enthusiasm we would not be here at this celebration this evening. The curriculum makes greater demands year after year on teachers, so we acknowledge their commitment to the schools' competition and thank them profusely for promoting the history and heritage of their county and locality among their pupils."

Next came the most eagerly awaited part of the evening and the results of the 2013 competition are as follows:

Harley/McDonagh Trophy

Winners: Edeninfagh N.S., Glenties.
First Runner-Up: Scoil Mhuire, Glenties
Joint Third: Kilaghatee N.S., Dunkineely
St. Naul's N.S. Inver
Runners-Up: Scoil Cholmcille, Letterkenny
Creevy N.S., Ballyshannon
Kilbarron N.S., Ballyshannon
Scoil an Chaisil, An Gleann Cholmcille

Fr. Jackie Fitzgerald Trophy

Winners: Loreto College, Milford
Runners-Up: Pobailscoil Ghaoth Dobhair

Emerson Award
St. Naul's NS, Inver

Small Groups/ Primary St. Columba's, Ballylast, Castlefinn (Anna McGinley, Jai Ponsonby, Oisin O'Brien, Conor Edwards, Jamie Doherty and Sarah Doherty). Individual/Secondary Nora Doherty, Loreto College, Milford. Small Groups/ Secondary Winners: Loreto College, Milford (Mark Borland, Erica Duffy, Jordan McIlwaine and Sean O'Toole). Runners-Up Loreto College, Milford (Rosaleen Gallagher, Amy Nelis, Mairead Sweeneym and Aisling Tinney In conclusion, Pat thanked everyone involved in making this year's competition such a great success. In addition to the pupils, their teachers and their schools he also extended his gratitude on behalf of the Society to this year's judges: Cllr. Gerry Crawford, Aine NiDhuibhne and Jim Kane, not an easy task being a judge in a field of such high quality, Pat added. Finally he also acknowledged the most welcome assistance from two of his colleagues in the Society, Bobby McDaid and Eamonn MacIntyre. ________________________________________________________________________________________________

The 39th annual schools history competition organised by the County Donegal Historical Society took place in Jackson’s hotel, Ballybofey on May 16th. As usual, it was a night of colour and enthusiasm with some amazing research projects, displays and presentations.

Results 2012

Harley Mc Donagh Trophy

Winners: Holy Trinity N.S. Dunfanaghy

Runners Up: Edeninfagh N.S. Glenties
Scoil an Chaisil Gleann Cholmcille
Dooish N.S. Ballybofey

Fr. Jackie Fitzgerald Trophy

Winner: Loreto Community College Milford

Runners Up: Pobalscoil Ghaoth Dobhair
Colaiste Phobail Cholmcille

Emerson Award

Winner: Edeninfagh N.S. Glenties

Cecil King Cup

Winner: Cian Gallagher – Martello Tower

Runners Up: Eddie Curran - Lighthouse
Kevin Gallagher – Traditional Candle Table

Individuals/Primary James & Jude Nugent, Creevy N.S., Ballyshannon.

Individual/Second level: Margaret Gallagher – Loreto Community College, Milford

Pat Shallow